St.estevam is an island located in Ilhas. It is also known as a Juvem. The people there are known as “Mashrit “. Santo Estevao is most famous for its premium seven-ridged, light-green, and long ladyfinger or okra. It is the fourth largest island in Goa. The island includes three other smaller islands. Such as Jua, Toledo, and Vento which are along the canal connecting them. These islands combine to form St.estevam islands.St.estevam is rich in historical heritage and natural beauty. St Estevam For islanders, getting married within their village is not only a Sacrament tradition that has to be followed, but has also been a way of life for over centuries.
History of St.estevam
By the 16th century, the island had been converted to Christianity by the sacred spirit of the Jesuits. They built the first church on the island in 1575. In 1683 the Church had been burned when the Island Martha King Sambhaji. The local public celebrated the feast of St Stephen on 26th December with great pomp. A monument dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus was unveiled on the island’s hill on December 26, 1926. Some local people mistakenly call it the Statue of Christ the King. Another monument dedicated to the Sacred Heart Mary is located in the compound of St. Stephen’s Church was inaugurated on December 31, 1943.St. Stephen is known as the prototype of Christianity.
The Jesuits established the church in 1575. It was dedicated to St. Stephen and was built over the ruins of the Ravalnath Temple. On 25 November 1683, the village was taken by Sambhaji, as part of the Maratha campaign against the Portuguese. The church was set on fire by Sambhaji. It is a reconstruction by the Jesuits, only to be burned down again in 1739 by the Marathas. The present structure was erected in 1759, by the communicator and a villager named Gelasio dos Remedios Furtado.