12 JyotirLingas Temples of Lord Shankar

A Jyotirlinga or Jyotirlingam is a shrine where Lord Shiva, an aspect of God in Hinduism is worshipped in the form of a Jyotirlingam or “Lingam of light. Jyotirlinga are set of 12 Shiva Temples spread all over India and considered holiest for Shiva devotees.” The Dwadasa Jyotirlinga shrines or the 12 shrines enshrining Shiva in the form of a Jyotirlingam, have been held in reverence since time immemorial in the Indian system of beliefs. The southernmost of these is located at Rameswaram, while the northernmost is located in the snowy heights of the Himalayas at Kedarnath. These temples are closely linked with legends from the puranas and are rich in history and tradition.

Significance of Jyotirling
The Puranas vociferously sing the praises of the greatness of the Jyotirlingas. By reciting the name of this, one can eliminate all the sins. The Sadhaka becomes calm, chaste and pure. He becomes illuminated and enlightened with supreme and divine knowledge. The names mentioned for the benefits of all:

“Saurashtre Somanatham cha,
Sri Saile Mallikarjuna.
Ujjanyinyam Mahakalam,
Omkare Malamleshwara.
Himalaye to Kedaram,
Dakinyam Bhimashankara.
Varanasyam cha Vishweshwam,
Tryambakam Gautameethate.
Paralyam Vaidyanatham cha,
Nagesham Darukavane.
Sethu bande Ramesham,
Grishnesam cha Shivalaya”.

This is the famous sloka given in the Shiva Purana describing the 12 jyotirlingas of Shiva.One who recites these 12 names regularly in the morning and evening he washes all the sins committed in the previous 7 births and attains all the powers and Siddhis.

Mahadev, the Lord incorporates in Himself, the aura and the holiness of all the twelve JyotirLingas. The grandeur of these places is unique. Devotees line up in great numbers to take a look and get a Darshan of all the JyotirLingas.Even today devotees are said to have got his darshan in the form of jyoti at these places. They are mentioned in the Dwadasa Jyotirlinga Stotra and are enshrined in following temples.



Somnath JyotirLing In Saurashtra (Guj)
Mallikarjun jyoptirling in Srisailam (A.P.)
Mahakaleshwar jyotirling in Ujjain (M.P.)
Omkareshwar jyotirling in Indore (M.P.)
Vaidyanath jyotirling in Parali (Mah)
Bhimashankar jyotirling in Pune (Mah)
Rameshwar jyotirling in Setubandanam (T.N.)
Nageswar jyotirling in Dwaraka (Guj)
Kashi Vishwanath Jyotirling in varanasi (U.P.)
Tryambakeswar jyotirling in Nasik (Mah)
Kedareswar jyotirling in Kedarnath / Himalayas (Utt)
Grishneswar jyotirling in Devasrovar (Mah).

Posted in: India, Religious Travel

Speak Your Mind


Swayam Infotech