In Uttarakhand, there are many temples of Lord Shiva, some of which are called Yatra of Char Dham according to Hindu belief. Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath, which according to Hindu mythology are known as Char Dham. Traditionally, the journey begins in the west and ends in the east. Thus the Char Gham Yatra starts from Yamunotri and then Gangotri then ends at Badrinath and Kedarnath. These four dhams are dedicated to each specific deity including Yamanotri Yamuna Devi to Gangotri Ganga, Kedarnath to Lord Shiva, and Badrinath to Lord Vishnu.

Two places of pilgrimage to Chardham


Kedarnath Temple

Kedarnath Temple

The Kedarnath temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva. The Kedarnath Temple is located in the Garhwal range of the Himalayas, near the Mandakini River. Kedarnath is known as the form of Shiva. The region is historically known as the ‘God of Kedarkhand‘.This temple is considered to be the holiest temple of Hindus. This temple is one of the temples in the pilgrimage of Char Dham. According to Hindu mythology, the temple was built by the Pandavas. Kedar Nath Temple is a part of Holy Punch Kedar. The Kedarnath temple is the northern Jyotirlinga.

According to Dharma Shatra, Kedar Nath temple is associated with Pandava sons. After the battle of Kurukshetra, Pandava sage Vyas came here to meet Lord Shiva. The Pandavas came to apologize to Lord Shiva for a murder that took place during the war, But Shiva refused to forgive. Shiva then transformed himself into an ox. Then the Pandavas find Lord Shiva. So Shiva tried to make the five disappear but a brother named Bhima grabbed his tail, forcing him to appear before him and forgive him. The first temple of Shiva was built by the Pandavas at Kedarnath. The earliest reference to Kedar Nath is in the Skanda Purana.

Statues of Draupadi and other deities are also installed in the main hall. Kedar Nath Temple has five other temples including Badri-Kedar, Madhya Maheshwara, Tunnanath, Rudranath, and Kalleshwar. The first hall among Kedarnath Temple includes statues of the five Pandava brothers, Krishna, Nandi, the vehicle of Shiva, and Virabhadra, one of the guards of Shiva. 

There are many other places worth visiting near the Kedarnath temple such as, Chorabari Tal, Adi Shankaracharya Samadhi, Vasuki Taal, Mayali Pass and, Adi Shankaracharya Samadhi which attracts the tourists who come there.



Badrinath is located in Chamoli district in Uttarakhand. Badrinath is a sacred place of Hinduism. It is one of the four places of pilgrimage in India. Badri Nath Temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu. This temple is worshiped as a Badrinath-sacred temple for Vaishnavism. This temple is one of the 108 Divya Desams dedicated to Vishnu. The temple is located on the banks of the Alaknanda river in the Garhwal hills.

This temple is situated between one and two mountains of Nar and Narayani. This temple is also called Chhota Chardham. Badrinath is one of the four shrines of God in India. The temples of these four directions were Badrinath temple in the north, Rameshwaram in the south, Dwarkapuri in the west, and Jagannathpuri in the east. Badrinath Temple is one of the five related temples named Panch Badri

Badri Nath is included as the smallest four in the Himalayas. Badri Nath is included as the smallest four in the Himalayas. Badrinath includes Kedar Nath, Yamunotri, and Gangotri which are located in the foothills of the Himalayas.

In this temple, Lord Vishnu is seated in Padmasana posture. According to Hindu mythology, Lord Vishnu came here to perform fever. The Badrinath temple is mentioned in the Vishnu Purana.A fair called Mata Murti Ka Melo is held in the precincts of Badrinath temple.

There are many other places worth visiting near the Badrinath temple such as, Brahma Kapal, Sheshnetra Ashramam, Nilkantha, Sheshnetra Ashramam, and Swaminarayan Mandir Dharamshala which attracts the tourists who come there.



Speak Your Mind


Swayam Infotech