Vaishnava Devi is a city located in the Trikuta Mountains. The famous Vaishnava Devi temple is located in this city. The temple is a sacred temple where devotees come from far and wide. Popularly known as Mata Rani, Vaishnavi, and Trikuta, Vaishno Devi is a manifestation of the Hindu Goddess Durga. Vaishno Devi is also known as the Moonh Maangi Muradein Poori Karne Wali Mata.

The Vaishno Devi temple is located in a sacred cave. Vaishno Devi is located in the form of three pindits, also known as pindis. In these three pindis the three forms of Goddess appear as Mahakali, Maha Saraswati, and Maha Lakshmi. Vaishnav Devi was formed from the combined energies of Goddess Parvati/Mahakali, Mahalakshmi, and Mahasaraswati. Ever since the inception of the Shrine Board in 1986, the Holy Shrine of Mata Vaishno Devi has witnessed an ever-increasing number of devotees. 

According to Hindu scriptures, Vaishno Devi was created in the Treta Yuga. When the evil and tyrannical rule of the earth demons was suppressed, when the Goddess Vaishnavism was formed, Gauri, Lakshmi, and Saraswati established their power for the emancipation of Pralaya to come to the earth. From the collective power of these three goddesses, a goddess appears who had eight arms and was not riding on a lion. This goddess is called Vaishno Devi.

Visiting place in Vaishno Devi

Charan Paduka 

In this place are the footprints of Mother Vaishno Devi which can be seen on the rock slab. This place is located near the  Katra on the way to  Maa Vaishno Devi. Charan Paduka is a sacred destination.

Ardhkuwari Cave 

The Ardhkuwari temple is also known as Hathimath. It is known as Hathimath because of its shape like the head of an elephant. This is a place where Vaishno Devi meditated for nine months before beheading Bhairav ​​Nath. The temple is located in a cave.

Bhairavnath Temple

Bhairavnath temple is dedicated to Baba Bhairavnath. It is believed that Bhairav Nath breathed his last in this place. According to Hindu mythology, Vaishno Devi did this in the murder of Bhairav. During her last breath, she repented of her sins. It is then believed that the journey is not complete without visiting Bhairav Nath.


ShivKhori is a cave dedicated to Lord Shiva. For most of the pilgrims, the pilgrimage to Vaishno Devi ends only when they’ve had a darshan of the holy cave of Shiv Khori. In the design of this cave, its roof is carved in the shape of a snake from which waterfalls on the Lingam of Lord Shiva. In this cave, besides Lord Shiva, Goddess Parvati, Ganesha, and Nandi are located.

Raghunath Temple 

Raghunath Temple is dedicated to Lord Rama. This temple was built by Maharaja Ranbir Singh. This temple is considered to be the largest temple in North India. Other idols in the temples include Lord Krishna, Ganesh Ji, and other Hindu deities. The temple reflects the Mughal architectural style and the main tower is built in the Sikh architectural style.


Speak Your Mind


Swayam Infotech