Fort Tyracol, also known as Terekhol Fort. The fort is located in Goa but is geographically in Maharashtra, India. The fort is located at the mouth of the river Tiracol in the northern part of Goa. Located 422 km north of Panaji, the fort can be reached by boat from Querim.
The name of the fort is derived from the Marathi “tir-khol” which means steep river-bank. The fort was built in the 17th century by a king of Sawantwadi named Maharaja Khem Sawant Bhonsle. The chosen site was a hill on the right bank of the river overlooking the Arabian Sea. Bhonsle of Sawantwadi had a large fleet of original ships sheltering in the Trikol river.
12 guns, barracks, and a chapel have initially consisted of this fort. Pedro Miguel de Almeida Portugal e Vasconcelos, conde de Assumar, marquis de Alorna fought against the king of Savantwadi in 1746, under the 44th Viceroy of Goa.
The Portuguese defeated the Sawantwadi forces on 16 November 1746.De Almeida brought the Portuguese fleet as far as the Caesuva River to engage the seas in a fierce confrontation against the naval forces of the king of Sawantwadi.
Fort Tiracol surrendered to the Portuguese
On 23 November 1746, after many battles and quarrels, Fort Tiracol finally surrendered to the Portuguese. The fort, which underwent major renovations in 1764, became an important part of the Portuguese maritime defense.
While the last places of the Portuguese territories in the subcontinent were forcibly annexed by India It remained under Portuguese control until December 1961. King of Sawantwadi signed a treaty recognizing British rule by Bhonsle Khem Sawant when the Maratha Empire was defeated On 17 February 1819. The strategic importance of the fort was effectively eliminated as it became scattered in the area controlled by the British allies.
The fort served as a rebel stronghold in the Portuguese Civil War During the 1825 uprising against the Portuguese led by Bernardo Perez da Silva.
The flag of India was hoisted here for one day when the Satyagrahis of the country entered Goa on 15th August 1954 and one of the directions was towards this fort, although it was captured and imprisoned.
Became a church
After the capture of the fort by de Almeida, a church was built here, A Church for the Holy Trinity which later became the century-old church of St. Anthony.